South Shore Coalition Subregion

What is the South Shore Coalition?

The South Shore Coalition subregion comprises 13 towns on the South Shore within the metropolitan Boston area. The towns are Braintree, Cohasset, Duxbury, Hanover, Hingham, Holbrook, Hull, Marshfield, Norwell, Pembroke, Rockland, Scituate and Weymouth. 

The South Shore Coalition (SCC) consists of member positions, one for each of the 13 municipalities.

In addition to SSC membership, many South Shore communities are represented in other groups convened by MAPC, including the Council and Boston Consortium for Sustainable Communities.

 South Shore Coalition General Map


All SSC meetings are open to the public. SCC usually meets monthly at the Hingham Town Hall (210 Central Street) on the third Thursday of the month from 7:00PM to 9:00PM. Meeting dates and locations are subject to change; please contact the South Shore Coalition Subregional Coordinator, Emily Torres-Cullinane, for confirmation.

See all upcoming MAPC public meetings and agendas

Please join us for a special informational meeting featuring the Massachusetts Department of Transportation's (MassDOT) presentation on the "Route 3 South Express Toll Lanes Project Proposal", Thursday March 26, 2015 from 9:00am to 10:30am, at Hingham Town Hall, 210 Central St., Hingham, MA 02043. For more information on the proposal please contact Senior Project Manager, Dianne Madden, at and to register, please contact the South Shore Coalition Coordinator, Emily Torres-Cullinane at AGENDA 

More about the South Shore Towns

Check out this interactive map of MAPC subregions on the MetroBoston DataCommon, or download a letter-size (8.5"x11") map of MAPC subregions. A more detailed map of the South Shore Coalition subregional area can be downloaded here.

Get more detailed information about the 13 South Shore Coalition towns by visiting their Community Snapshot pages, demographic profiles provided by the MetroBoston DataCommon, and by visiting their muncipal websites and municipal planning-related websites:
















SSC documents & resources


For additional information, please contact the South Shore Coalition Subregional Coordinator, Emily Torres-Cullinane at or 617-933-0735.