2017 Summer Greenway Rides and Walks


Join MAPC and the LandLine Metro Boston Greenway Network for a series of bicycle rides and walking tours this summer!

The Boston region has a growing network of greenways that MAPC has branded as “LandLine”. Please join MAPC and its partners this summer on a series of eye opening bicycle rides and fun walks to explore these varied and scenic corridors focusing on location where we aim to solve problems of closing key gaps. Events will generally last about 3 hours, and include stops and discussion along the way, often ending with a drink at a local establishment. For more information and to register for a given ride, please contact the ride leader on this page.

Before attending a ride, please check back to this page for updates!

Malden River, Oak Grove to Chelsea Ride

Wednesday May 24, 6pm Wellington Station (near pickup and drop off).  Note: only foldable bikes allowed on the T until 7pm.

Map of the ride

Contact: Clay Larsen (claylars@gmail.com)

 

Assabet Rail Trail new construction (Acton, Maynard, Stow)

Friday June 2 - 2:45 pm South Acton Station (1:55 train from North Station)

Contact: Pete Sutton (peter.sutton@state.ma.us)

 

Mystic River – Boston to Alewife

Tuesday June 6 – 6pm Riverfront Park at Assembly Row 

Contact: Amber Christoffersen (amber.christoffersen@mysticriver.org)

 

Riverside Trail Walk - Newton to Wellesley

Friday June 9 - 2pm Riverside Station

Contact: Andreae Downs (andreaedowns@gmail.com)

 

Neponset Trail  - UMass to Readville on new sections

Wednesday June 21 - 6pm Carson Beach, South Boston

Contact: Michelle Moon (michelle.moon1@googlemail.com)

 

Bruce Freeman Rail Trail Construction Tour - Lowell to Concord

Friday July 14 - 3pm Lowell Station (2:15 train from North Station)

Contact: David Loutzenheiser (dloutzenheiser@mapc.org)

 

Mass Central Rail Trail - Waltham to Sudbury

Wednesday July 12 - 6pm Waltham Station

Contact: David Loutzenheiser (dloutzenheiser@mapc.org)

 

Tri Community Bikeway Construction Tour

Wednesday July 19 – 6pm  Alewife Station

Contact: Roger Wilson (rwilson@civicdecisions.com)

  

Winthrop Beaches + Deer Island

Wednesday, July 26 – 5:05 pm Winthrop Ferry from Moakley Courthouse Boston

Contact: Alice Brown (alice.anne.brown@gmail.com)

 

Emerald Necklace – Fenway to Casey Blvd and beyond to Moakley Park

Wednesday August 2 - Boylston St at Fenway (in front of Mass Historic)

Contact: Nathaniel Fink (nfink@tooledesign.com)

 

American Legion Highway Walk to Franklin Park

TBD

Contact:  TBD 

AttachmentSize
Summer Rides 2017 Flyer.pdf252.32 KB