2017 Summer Greenway Rides and Walks


2017 Summer Greenway Rides and Walks

 Join MAPC and the LandLine Metro Boston Greenway Network for a series of bicycle rides and walking tours this summer!

The Boston region has a growing network of greenways that MAPC has branded as “LandLine”. Please join MAPC and its partners this summer on a series of eye opening bicycle rides and fun walks to explore these varied and scenic corridors focusing on location where we aim to solve problems of closing key gaps. Events will generally last about 3 hours, and include stops and discussion along the way, often ending with a drink at a local establishment. For more information and to register for a given ride, please contact the ride leader on this page.

Before attending a ride, please check back to this page for updates!

 

UPCOMING RIDES

Neponset Trail  - UMass to Readville on new sections

Monday July 24 – 5:30 pm District Hall, 75 Northern Ave, Boston or at 6pm at Carson Beach

Contact: Michelle Moon (michelle.moon1@googlemail.com) or Vivian Ortiz (mattapanviv@gmail.com)

 

Winthrop Beaches + Deer Island

Wednesday, July 26 – 5:30 pm Rowes Wharf (to take the 5:45 pm Winthrop Ferry)

Contact: Alice Brown (alice.anne.brown@gmail.com)

 

Emerald Necklace – Fenway to Casey Blvd and beyond to Moakley Park

Wednesday August 2 – 5:30pm  Boylston St at Fenway (in front of Mass Historic)

Contact: Nathaniel Fink (nfink@tooledesign.com)

 

American Legion Highway Walk to Franklin Park

Tuesday August 15 – Forest Hills Station

Contact:  Nidhi Gulati (nidhi@livablestreets.info

 

PAST RIDES

Malden River, Oak Grove to Chelsea

Wednesday May 24, 6pm Wellington Station (near pickup and drop off).  Note: only foldable bikes allowed on the T until 7pm.

Map of the ride

Contact: Clay Larsen (claylars@gmail.com)

 

Assabet Rail Trail new construction (Acton, Maynard, Stow)

Friday June 2 - 2:45 pm South Acton Station (1:55 train from North Station)

Contact: Pete Sutton (peter.sutton@state.ma.us)

 

Riverside Trail Walk - Newton to Wellesley 

Friday June 9 - 2pm Riverside Station

Contact: Andreae Downs (andreaedowns@gmail.com)

 

Mystic River – Boston to Alewife

Tuesday June 13 – Two starting points:

      5:45: North Bank Bridge (Cambridge-side next to Education First/Skate Park)

      6:10: Assembly Row T (Entrance closest to Partners HealthCare) 

Contact: Amber Christoffersen (amber.christoffersen@mysticriver.org)

 

Mass Central Rail Trail - Waltham to Sudbury

Tuesday July 11 - 6pm Waltham Station

Contact: David Loutzenheiser (dloutzenheiser@mapc.org)

 

Bruce Freeman Rail Trail Construction Tour - Lowell to Concord

Friday July 14 - 3pm Lowell Station (2:15 train from North Station)

Contact: David Loutzenheiser (dloutzenheiser@mapc.org)

 

Tri Community Bikeway Construction Tour

Tuesday July 18 – 6pm  Alewife Station

Contact: Roger Wilson (rwilson@civicdecisions.com)

 

AttachmentSize
Summer Rides 2017 Flyer.pdf252.32 KB