NORTH SUBURBAN PLANNING COUNCIL BYLAWS

(Revised on 11/14/2012)

ARTICLE I - NAME

Section 1

The name of this organization shall be the North Suburban Planning Council and shall include the following municipalities: Burlington, Lynnfield, North Reading, Reading, Stoneham, Wakefield, Wilmington, Winchester, and Woburn.

ARTICLE II - PURPOSE

Section 1

The purpose of the North Suburban Planning Council, hereafter referred to as the Council, shall be to foster cooperation between the participating municipalities on planning issues of primary concern to the residents of the region.

The Council will strive to:

- Facilitate communication between the participating municipalities through the participation in the committee of local officials involved with planning issues, in concert with the Metropolitan Area Planning Council (MAPC);
- Assist the participating municipalities in setting the agenda for action on planning issues, as well as issues related to growth management and land use, and other issues which, if thoughtfully addressed, will allow the region to retain its character and its desirability as a place to live and work.

ARTICLE III – MEMBERSHIP & COMMUNICATIONS

Section 1

Membership in the Council shall consist of up to three representatives from each municipality and the MAPC Subregional Coordinator.

Each municipality may appoint up to three representatives who shall consist of the following:

 One shall be a member of the Board of Selectmen (or City Council in the case of a city) or a designee appointed by the Board of Selectmen or City Council.

- One shall be a member of the Planning Board or a designee appointed by the Planning Board.
- One shall be the municipality's representative to the MAPC Council or the MAPC Council Alternate..

Section 2

The Subregional Coordinator is an MAPC staff member appointed by the MAPC Executive Director, who shall be responsible for working with the Executive Committee (defined in Article V, Section 5) to ensure that the goals and objectives of the subregion are met. The Coordinator shall schedule meetings; prepare agendas; organize forums and workshops; maintain the contact list outlined in Article III, Section 4; manage the subregion budget; provide technical assistance to participating municipalities; and implement subregional projects.

Section 3

The Council may be expanded by admitting to full membership any abutting city or town by a two-thirds affirmative vote of the municipalities present.

Section 4

The Council shall develop and up-date from time to time a list of non-voting members made up of local businesses, civic organizations, nonprofit organizations, and voluntary groups. These parties shall receive meeting notices, minutes, agendas and may serve on sub-committees.

Section 5

Pursuant to MGL Chapter 30A Section 20, the Massachsuetts Open Meeting Law, Council meetings are open to the public. In addition, communication between and among members of the Council and MAPC are subject to MGL Chapter 4 Section 7 (26), the Massachusetts Public Records Law.

ARTICLE IV – VOTING

Each municipality and MAPC shall have one vote. In the event that multiple representatives from a municipality are present at a meeting, such representatives shall have an opportunity to caucus in order to arrive at consensus on a vote on behalf of the municipality. One representative shall cast the vote on behalf of the municipality and all votes must be submitted in person.

ARTICLE V - CO-CHAIRS & ELECTIONS

Section 1

There shall be two Co-Chairs. The Co-Chairs shall be elected from the membership for two-year terms, and, with the Subregional Coordinator, shall form the Executive Committee.

Co-Chairs shall share the following responsibilities: assist the Subregional Coordinator with the preparation of meeting agendas; facilitation of meetings; appointment of all sub-committees; ensuring that the Subregional Coordinator carries out Council directives; and representing the Council before other local, regional, or state agencies or organizations.

Section 2

Election of Co-Chairs: The annual election of Co-Chairs shall be held during the June meeting and shall be the first order of business. Co-chairs shall assume their office upon completion of the annual meeting. A person may only serve as Co-Chair for no more than two consecutive full terms and may only be re-elected or appointed to an office after spending one year out of office.

Section 3

Co-Chairs and the Subregional Coordinator shall solicit interest among the membership for the Co-Chair roles and accept nominations prior to the annual meeting. The nominated slate shall be sent to the members with the notice of the annual meeting. Nominations from the floor with the assent of the nominee will be accepted.

Section 4

Vacancy - In the event of the inability of either Co-Chair to serve, a temporary Co-Chair shall be designated by the Subregional Coordinator. This temporary Co-Chair shall perform all duties of the office until such time as the Council shall elect one of its members to fill the vacancy. Such election shall be held at a regularly scheduled meeting of the Council provided that thirty (30) day's notice of said election has been given to the Council.

Section 5

Executive Committee - The Executive Committee is comprised of the two Co-Chairs and the Subregional Coordinator.

ARTICLE VI - MEETINGS

Section 1

There shall be at least seven meetings of the Council each year. The Council shall meet on the second Wednesday of the month, or at the call of the Co-Chairs. The location of the monthly meetings shall rotate among the member communities. Meetings requiring a vote of the membership shall be conducted in accordance with Roberts Rules of Order.

Section 2

Annual Meeting - The annual meeting shall be held in June to:

- a) Elect two Co-Chairs in accordance with Article V;
- b) Adopt a working program for the ensuing year;
- c) Receive an annual report on the activities and financial affairs of the Council from the Subregional Coordinator;
- d) Transact such other business as may properly come before it.

Section 3

Quorum – The majority of the municipalities shall constitute a quorum at any meeting. MAPC is considered a community for the purposes of quorum counts.

Section 4

Voting – Unless otherwise specified, any decision requiring a vote must be approved by a majority of those municipalities present and voting at a meeting. MAPC is considered a municipality for purposes of voting.

ARTICLE VII - COMMITTEES

Section 1

The Co-Chairs shall appoint all subcommittees and Task Forces which the Council may from time to time deem necessary. Sub-committees and Task Forces shall consist of representatives as outlined in Article III, Section I, and may include individuals who live and work in the participating municipalities and who are not appointed representatives of any municipality.

ARTICLE VIII - AMENDING THE BYLAWS

Section 1

Amendments to these bylaws must be proposed by a member before a regularly scheduled Council meeting. Amendments become effective upon approval at a subsequent regularly scheduled meeting.

Section 2

Any amendment to these bylaws must be adopted by a two-thirds vote of those municipalities present and voting, but in no event less than one-half of the total municipalities in the Council. MAPC is considered a municipality for the purposes of voting.

ARTICLE IX - ADOPTION OF BYLAWS

Section 1

Adoption of these bylaws shall require a two-thirds vote of the membership as described in Section III of the Memorandum of Agreement.