Smart Growth & Regional Collaboration



Each municipality in our region belongs to one of eight subregions, each led by one MAPC staff member.

MAPC works with its cities and towns through the subregional committees. Stretching west from Boston to include most of the communities inside the I-495 corridor, the MAPC planning area consists of 22 cities and 79 towns that include coastal communities, older industrial centers, rural towns and modern cities. Each subregion includes municipal officials and regional and community stakeholders, all of whom work together to develop an annual work plan and priorities.

ICC - Inner Core Committee

Inner Core Committee (ICC) consists of 21 cities and towns within the metropolitan Boston area. ICC emerged as a forum through which issues of mutual concern could be explored and joint and cooperative action fostered. Communities in the ICC region are among the most urban and populous within the MAPC planning area and deal with a host of unique challenges. Learn more about ICC.

ICC Coordinator: Karina Milchman | 617-933-0738

NSTF - North Shore Task Force
NSPC - North Suburban Planning Council
MAGIC - The Minuteman Advisory Group on Interlocal Coordination
MWRC - MetroWest Regional Collaborative
SWAP - SouthWest Advisory Planning Committee
TRIC - Three Rivers Interlocal Council
SSC - South Shore Coalition