North Shore Task Force (NSTF)


Smart Growth & Regional Collaboration

The North Shore Task Force (NSTF) is a group of 16 communities north of Boston working collaboratively on regional issues.

The goal of NSTF is to cooperate with, and to assist, each member municipality in coordinating its planning and economic development so as to obtain maximum benefits for the North Shore district.

Member communities focus on a broad range of issues that affect the North Shore, including sustainable development, equitable housing, clean energy, climate change and transportation. NSTF is guided by the principles found in the MetroFuture PlanMAPC's regional development blueprint for the Boston Metropolitan area.

Sign up for news and updates here!


Each community has two representatives to NSTF, appointed by either its Mayor or Board of Selectmen. The committee Chairman is elected by the membership annually. An MAPC staff person also provides support to NSTF in the role of Subregional Coordinator.

The Task Force is co-chaired by Molly O’Connell, Senior Planner for the Town of Swampscott and Emily Hutchings, Assistant Planning Director for the City of Beverly.


NSTF generally meets on the third Thursday of each month, 8:30 a.m., at the Peabody Essex Institute Library, 15 Sylvan Street, Danvers, MA. Our meetings are virtual until the foreseeable future. Meeting dates are subject to change.

NSTF Monthly Meeting
Thursday, March 18, 8:30 a.m.
Thursday, April 22, 8:30 a.m.

Please contact Subregional Coordinator Christian Brandt at for more information.